(Interview) Celso C. Namuco

I have to admit, that the theological error that almost duped me in my early days of being a Calvinist, has a specific name, thanks to the title of the book. I was so pumped with the doctrine of grace. However, I stumbled upon Curtis Hudson’s sermon refuting this biblical doctrine. The Sword of the Lord folks (from the IFB group) are debunking Lordship Salvation, by responding with a variant of hyper-grace. By God’s grace and through his faithful teachers like John MacArthur, I found some counter points and didn’t abandoned the doctrine of sovereign grace. Free-grace or hyper grace is the false answer to Lordship Salvation. That happened years ago and it came from the IFB camp. I never knew I would encounter it again through this new book from Pastor Namuco and according to him, it’s alive and well in our place, Batangas City. So I reached out to him and even in his busy schedule, he gave me a very brief interview. If you want more, you can reach him and buy his book, Truth and Grace at the of this article.

Hello Pastor Celso. Kindly tell something about yourself.
I was born and raised in Batangas. I am happily married to my better half, Hanny Namuco, and we are blessed to have four children: JC, Eu-La, SJ, and EJ. I am the senior founding pastor and teacher of Christ Stewards Fellowship in Libjo, Batangas City. I also do pioneering church planting work at Taguig City for our Church, CSF.

What is hyper-grace?
Like in a movie review, I don’t want to spoil the reader’s desire to study my first published book, Truth and Grace. I can only provide a blurb of the book or a movie teaser so it won’t lose their curiosity about what hyper-grace is.
This is the modern term for the old heresy of antinomianism. It simply means anti-law. It lessens the importance of God’s law in a Christian’s life. It is the opposite of its twin heresy, legalism. These two erroneous gospels are two sides of the same coin. They are both enemies of sanctification.

Indeed an enemy of sanctification. How were you exposed to this kind of doctrine?
I wrote the story of my first encounter with antinomians in the book. This is also happened here in Batangas City. I would encourage you to read that portion, you never know. The hyper-grace teachers could be your neighbors. 🙂

What are the common red flags Christians should look for when attending or listening to someone who preaches hyper-grace?
In my book Truth and Grace, I listed ten biblical concepts frequently misinterpreted by hyper-grace teachers and exposed their ways of making them acceptable. It is like eating sugar-coated gummies, sweet but harmful to your health.

If a believer is a member of a church that upholds this doctrine, what steps should they take?
Immediately leave the church and find a good, solid, Bible-centered church that teaches the whole counsel of God.

Can you tell us what Truth and Grace is all about and how you approach the heresy in this book?
As I have mentioned, this confronts one of the most treacherous heresies against the Church in the modern age. I explain in the book the perfect breeding ground for antinomianism, and I exposed them for they are hiding behind the “suit” of being Bible teachers. Not only that, but I also uncover the subtle ways of the antinomians. They are covering themselves behind the shadow of grace.

Kindly tell us the processes of writing and publishing your book.

My seminary in the USA groomed me to be a writer. I think all my professors there have authored books. In addition, I was surrounded by local writers who encouraged me to write and publish a book. Now, publishing a book is not that simple.

When I went to NBDB (National Book Development Board) to get the ISBN of my book, I rode “Angkas” (motorcycle transport service) to reach their office quickly in Fairview, QC. I did that for the first time to meet the deadline for publishing Truth and Grace.

I heard that Dr. Joel Beeke was involved in the book’s creation. Please tell us about that.
He is my professor in this thesis, which is now a book, Truth and Grace. He encouraged me by giving positive compliments in writing this subject. He is an author of over a hundred books, and receiving his commendation inspired me to publish Truth and Grace.

What impact do you hope your book will have on readers’ faith and understanding?
I hope and pray that they may discern this false doctrine, identify the keywords that exposed hyper-grace, and understand why we need to repudiate or reject this heresy. In this way, no Christians will be deceived, and they can live with holiness as their top priority.

Please invite our readers to purchase your book Truth and Grace. If they want a copy, please provide your contact details.
I appreciate having me on your blog. For now, there are two ways to get the book. First, you can drop by Hanny’s Bakeshop in the Old Market and get copies. Second, you can order it online via Facebook  Page of my book. You can send your full name, address, and contact number so LBC can send it to the address you provided, and payment can be made through G-cash or money transfer.

(Did you enjoy what you read? Did this article help you? If yes, you can say “Thank you” by sharing 10 Pesos or more at my G-Cash or Paymaya account: Marianito Gonzales – 09163315535. For international friends, you can send it through Paypal: nitoymgonzales@gmail.com)

Leave a comment