6 Ways to Fall in Love With Christ Part 1

Standard

“ How do I love thee? “ The poet Elizabeth Barrett Browning asks this important question. Then she adds “Let me count the ways.” How do you love Christ? Can you count the ways? As we turn our Bibles to the Song of Solomon, we can see the intense love between King Solomon and her bride. We can compare it to the relationship of a Christian and Christ. So what are the ways to have this kind of love? The Song of Solomon unravels 6 ways:
Beholding
“Behold, you are beautiful, my beloved, truly delightful. Our couch is green;”
Song of Solomon 1: 16

“..looking to Jesus, the founder and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is seated at the right hand of the throne of God.”
Heb. 12:2

Let us all focus our mind, heart and soul to Christ. Fixing our eyes to Him that we might follow Him. An uninterrupted fellowship with Him is our goal.

Inquiring
“Tell me, you whom my soul loves, where you pasture your flock, where you make it lie down at noon; for why should I be like one who veils herself beside the flocks of your companions?” Song of Solomon 1: 7

“One thing have I asked of the Lord, that will I seek after: that I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life, to gaze upon the beauty of the Lord and to inquire in his temple.” Psalms 27:4

Let us be willing to inquirer to Him in His Word what He wants us to do. Pray to the everyday decisions we made. Ask for His will in every turning point of our lives. I choose Psalms 27: 4 to let us see the place which we could meditate and petition. It is in our churches. Not just the will for our life but what can we do for the ministry and the church are also the things we much consider asking.

Depending
“ As an apple tree among the trees of the forest, so is my beloved among the young men. With great delight I sat in his shadow, and his fruit was sweet to my taste. He brought me to the banqueting house, and his banner over me was love. Sustain me with raisins; refresh me with apples, for I am sick with love.” Song of Solomon 2: 3-5

“Therefore I tell you, do not be anxious about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink, nor about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing?” Matthew 7: 25

We should be always open our empty hands to His daily provision. This is not an invitation for fatalism. This is leaning to His strength day by day. We know that good or bad He gave this to us to make much of Him. If dependence to Him is a gift, so is contentment.

(to be continued next week)

Leave a Reply

