Summer Komikon 2014: The Fanboy Menace Part 2

Standard

After the CR break we stroll to other rooms in the Bayanihan Center. But I forgot to tell you before the CR break we met the gals of Black Ink Shortcuts. Shortcuts are comicbooks that has 3 stories illustrated in manga style. Reira and Rica wrote and draw the “Ninja Girl” story. They were all shy but friendly. They signed my comics and even left the booth to have a picture with me. They do some extra stuff for fans. Again as always, I gave them gospel tracts and move on to the next stop.

 

We slip first in the Indie Tiangge section to say hi to Jun Dayo. I consider Sir Jun my connection with my childhood days with Funny Komiks. He is a legend. I know he already knows my presence because I can here from a far, “Pastor Nitoy is here…” (Note: while I enjoy being called a pastor, I’m not a pastor. I preach and lead our young people at church but I’m not a pastor. You can call me Bro. Nitoy or simply Nitoy 😊). I met his wife who is on the table while Sir Jun is busy doing his thing. I bought the 2 in 1 “Pinoy Old School Komiks” which his wife handled to Sir Jun to get signed. I also pulled a 1992 Funny Komiks which draw some attention from the younger crowd. I handled it to his wife then in turn gave it to Sir Jun. I gave him a gift. A book titled “Important Questions and Answers” (I saw one of his photo attending a Bible study I presume and I think its fitting to give this book. If your reading this Sir Jun, I’m praying for you and you family. You can always contact me and we can talk about spiritual stuff).

 

After that me and my friend left the room to go to the next room (little did I know Sir Jun run after me to have our picture taken. But we already have left. He told me on Facebook. And I promise to him on the next Komikon we will do it).

The next room was for Pinoy international artist who will do some artwork for you to take home or the Komikalye. Swarms of fans were there that makes an impression that you have to fall in line to have his autograph. But some of them informed me that I could squeeze in because I’m just after the autographs (they are waiting for their artworks). Those fellow comicbook fans are very nice to me for letting me through. If you read my Komikon article last year I was targeting this artist to have my Cast comics get signed. Finally, I get to meet him. Stephen Segovia who works for DC and Valiant (previously at Marvel) was on the farthest table.We shook hands and I showed him his artwork gig over Cast comics. He politely signed it and we had a photo op. I gave him the last Gospel of John booklet and the gospel tract. If you are a Christian, please uphold these folks to God that they may accept the gospel.

Returning back to the main hall, I have conceived two missions: get my Private Iris autographed by Arnold Arre and find the guilty party of my two Culture Crash comics. Unfortunately, we reach back Arnold Arre’s table to find he is gone. Mission #1 failed! On with Mission #2: find the artist and writers of my 15 year old Culture Crash comics! Again, I forgot to tell you (see I not getting younger) before leaving Nautilus Studio I asked Jamie Bautista if he knows the creator of Culture Crash. He told me to ask Elbert Or. So me and my friend travelled to Elbert’s spot, only to find him gone. We ask the some creators nearby but they pointed us to the center tables to try our luck. We ask to ladies who are selling comics but we receive negative replies. Last try are comic folks near the sales ladies.

“Do you know the artist of this comicbook?” I ask.
“Ok go to Michael David the creator of Kubori Kikiam” they replied.
“Thank you!”

Michael David’s booth is near Arnold Arre’s spot. We pass by there a few times. Again we stroll to near the stage to meet Michael.
“Are you Michael David?”
“Yes Iam!” he said as we shook hands.
“Do you know who are the artist behind this comic.” showing my decade and a half Culture Crash comic. He then pointed me ove the next booth.
“He’s the only one who’s here. Elmer Damaso suppose to be making an appearance but he has other matters to attend to.”
I came near to Taga-Ilog who illustrates the series “Pasig”. Before I could talk to him someone is calling on his phone. So as he signs my comicbook, he was talking to the phone. Talk about multitasking. But I was entertained by a fellow comics fan and we talk about of course Culture Crash. It was a short but sweet talk then she walks away. Me and my friend said goodbye Taga-Ilog (later I found out his name is Melvin Calingo) and to Michael David. And thats it. Mission #2 is victorious!

After all of the tiring walk, my friend suggested for us to watch “Ang Maskot”, a short filmed starring Alex De Rossi, Ketchup and Ramon Bautista. Finally, we can sit back and relax. Its a good thing I still have my bottled juice and a Snickers bar to dig into as we watch the film. The film was totally hilarious (it has a scene where Ketchup is giving a dirty finger and saying explicit words which I object. Is it necessary to have that on a funny movie to make a point?). It gave us time to massage our feet and rest our aching back.

Wrapping up our adventure as we exit we saw Stephen Segovia and Arnold Arre getting interviewed by TV5. Its so great to see that mainstream media is covering this event and showing every Pinoy that the local comic scene is alive. So guys, let us support our own comicbooks. Till the 10th Komikon on November, happy komiks reading!

(By the way, since I gave some of the gospel goodies over Summer Komikon here’s something for you guys:
“For Your Joy” by John Piper http://goo.gl/PFGRiV)

Leave a Reply

