Book Review: My Utmost for His Highest by Oswald Chambers

Standard

Are the guys from CLC reading my mind? Receiving this devotional book from them is a surprise because I use this book in my quite time! I bought it years ago but only recently I include it on my meditations. As far as I’m concern this work from Oswald Chambers needs neither introduction nor book review. If books for quite time are cars, “My Utmost for His Highest” is the Rolls Royce.

Every entry of this devotional is intent not just for you to be encourage but to make you think deeper. The quest of Chambers book is to blow our own self serving spirituality and engage it to focus solely on God. Chambers God given wisdom to penetrate to the very heart and soul of his readers that you’ll think that some are new to the Christian (when it is not). Over and over again you will stumble to that” aha moment” that is thoroughly provoking and engaging. This devotional will leave you soaked in the Spirits power and asking God to teach you more about Him. That’s what a devotional is all about! That is “My Utmost for His Highest”!

“My Utmost for His Highest” has been updated in our modern language for easy reading and understanding by James Reimann. Reimann gave the updated versions of classic devotionals, two from Spurgeon (which I own) and Streams in the Desert. But I consider his update on “My Utmost for His Highest” the best of all. I think he gave his all on this project that it didn’t lost the ideas and thoughts of this devotional.

You don’t have to read this or any book review to endorse this great book. Don’t mind the blurbs or Charles Stanley’s foreword in the book. This devotional should be in every book shelves of every Christian. This classic book is highly recommended.

Leave a Reply

