Leland Ryken on Preserving the Dignity and Beauty of the Bible

Standard

On the trusting some essentially literal Bible translations in preserving the dignity and beauty of the Bible, Ryken writes:

“You can expect to read, “Behold, I stand at the door and knock” (Rev. 3:20, KJV, NASB, ESV), not such things as this: “Here I am! I stand at the door and knock” (NIV, TNIV), or, “Here I stand knocking at the door” (REB), or, “Listen! I am standing and knocking at your door” (CEV). In an essentially literal translation you will find the awe-inspiring lead-in, “Truly, truly, I say to you” (ESV), not a translation that has scaled the voltage down to “I tell you the truth” (NIV) or “I tell you for certain” (CEV) or “I assure you” (NLT). An essentially literal translation will fire your imagination and wonder with its evocative picture of “ivory palaces” (Ps. 45:8, KJV, NASB, ESV), not such mundane versions as “palaces adorned with ivory” (NIV) or “palaces paneled with ivory” (REB) or “palaces decorated with ivory” (GNB, NLT).”

 

 

(Choosing a Bible: Understanding Bible Translation Differences by Leland Ryken © 2005, Crossway Books)

What your favorite Bible translation? Please post in on the comments.

 

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

