Meeting William Girao

Standard

“Late”. That’s the word that keeps running in my mind. It seems that I won’t get a glimpse of Carmen Vargas at the Christ Strengthening Ministry (CSM )booth (the loudest booth at the fair).

It’s Saturday September 15, 2012. That’s the date that we will visit the “33rd Manila International Book Fair” at SMX Mall of Asia. I’ve been anticipating it for months now and finally its here. We will check the Christian booths over that event, buy some books, do camera frolic and rub elbows with authors. But time became the enemy. Also the bad weather threatens us.  But I won’t go home defeated. I will be the victor ha! 🙂

We came almost 3PM at MOA and got lost first before we found SMX Convention Center. We paid 20 pesos for the entrance fee. As we enter we can see swarms of book enthusiast and lots of booths making some part of the book fair crowded and as I have experienced it was hard to check the books you want to buy. Despite the dilemma, we still enjoy the booths of different local and international publishers. Discounted books over here and there, we are tempted to open our wallets and give in to buy books. We have to pinch ourselves not to because we are here to buy Christian books (goodbye Ambeth Ocampo).

We stop over to the foremost leader in Christian publishing here in the Philippines, OMF Lit. As expected it was a blockbuster. Jam-pack is the right word from the people checking the display rack to the cashier lane we can see that people still patronize Christian books especially from OMF.  We had a hard time to move around and checking books that we want to take home. Still it was fun. We get to buy discounted books like the newly revised book of R.C. Sproul “Knowing Scripture”, the new book from William Girao “Giving Up is Not An Option” (which will soon be reviewed here in this blog) and a devotional book for my friend I tag along. Speaking of William Girao, let’s jump to that story, because this whole post is all about that encounter.

I’m not expecting to see this prolific Christian author in the fair. I was expecting Carmen Vargas of DZAS at the CSM booth (well it’s too late and I’m not interested to see Pilar Pilapil’s appearance there). As I was browsing some books someone announced that Pastor Girao will be there at the OMF booth and will be signing his books. So I grab his latest book and my diglot Bible for a chance to get it signed. I saw him and he is what you may call a typical pastor. At first glance you won’t he is a widely read author. But the built, the clothes and the looks. Mukhang isa sa mga senior pastor sa iglesia ninyo. He resembles one of our pastors here in Batangas City. He welcomed me with a warm smile, a hand shake and start signing the book and my Bible. I’m star stuck at that moment, so I reinforce myself and courageously try to start a conversation. I open the topic of Calvinism. I told him I thought he is a Calvinist and it is one hot topic back at home. He looked at me and we launched into a 3 minute or so conversation about his stand on Calvinism. He said Calvinism is an open-end debate. There are questions that will be left unanswered. He could say that he is a “limited Calvinist” (or I think he’s standing on the moderate Calvinism approach). If we see Bible verses pertaining to election we should preach it and if we verse that points man’s part in salvation we should also preach it. ‘It’s in the Bible isn’t it?” he said” So there is no conflict in that.” I think our chat is getting too long but as I check at my back I’m the only one in the line (thank goodness). It was a great and memorable talk. I’m honor to meet this Bible expositor and learn spiritual lessons from his books. I hope in the coming year OMF Lit will do this again. Thank you OMF!

As for me because of the book fair experience, it added my appreciation to books and its impact to our lives a Christians. Next year I will be planning for this event with more friends to tag along and a bigger budget. And I hope next year I will see you there. Till next year, keep reading books guys!

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

