Our Daily Devotion: Delighting Grace Interviews Dave Branon of Our Daily Bread

Standard

What a blessed opportunity to talk to one of the contributors of Our Daily Bread, Dave Branon and learn  more about the most beloved devotional in the world. Here’s my interview with Dave. 

Delighting Grace:  How did you get started in Our Daily Bread? Did you apply or what?

Dave Branon: I started working for Our Daily Bread as an assistant editor for the publication. I had been teaching high school English and coaching basketball, but when the opportunity to become a part of RBC Ministries opened up, I felt that God was calling me to leave one profession I loved (working with kids) and move to another (writing and editing Christian literature). Once I started here, I was given some writing assignments with other RBC publications, and I guess I did okay with those articles. Eventually, I was asked to write articles for ODB and the editors have stuck with me. I’ve been writing for Our Daily Bread since 1988. Almost 1,000 articles!

Delighting Grace: Wow incredible 1,000 articles! Our Daily Bread is the most famous and longest running devotional in the world. Can you tell us the process or steps in making or writing it before it can go to the readers.

Dave Branon: Each month, the writers are asked to submit a number of articles to the editor, Anne Cetas. These articles are collected by the ODB staff, copied, and distributed to our evaluation committee. This committee reads each article ahead of time and then meets together to discuss each one in detail. We look at the illustration to see if it is a good one; we examine the Bible reading and the teaching to make sure they go together. We think about the ending and whether it works. Occasionally, we send an article back to the writer to do additional work. Sometimes, we have to say that the article simply won’t work.
All articles that make it through the committee are then edited for length, clarity, grammar, punctuation, biblical accuracy, and a bunch of other things. The articles then have to go to translators, who turn them into the other languages we produce. The entire process takes a year from beginning to end.

Delighting Grace: Do ODB staff have a devotion time in the office? How do you do devotion with the staff?

Dave Branon: RBC Ministries has many departments. The ODB staff is part of the publishing team. We meet each Monday morning for devotions. We take turns sharing whatever the Lord lays on our heart.  The entire RBC staff meets together each Wednesday for chapel. And, of course, we all have our churches we attend for additional time in learning and worshiping and service.

Delighting Grace: In your opinion, why is Our Daily Bread became well loved by millions?

Dave Branon: I think the fact that the ODB staff is very careful to present articles that are solidly based on God’s Word is the key. Also, we stay away from side issues that divide believers needlessly. The essence of what we want to say is based on the gospel of Jesus Christ and the clear teachings of Scripture. Also, having an illustration/story based devotional is a high-interest element that keeps people coming back for more, I think. It’s a great combination of human interest and biblical teaching. 

Delighting Grace: How can readers make most of their devotional time using Our Daily Bread?

Dave Branon: Make sure you read the Scripture. If you read that and absorb the teaching of Scripture, then anything we say is just a little bonus. Focus on the Word. And then see if that last paragraph can be applied in your life. We try to give you an action point or a way to focus on God at the end. That’s your homework for the day.

Delighting Grace: Personally, how did Our Daily Bread influence you as a Christian?

Dave Branon: ODB was a part of our dinner devotions every day as I was growing up. My dad read it to us after each meal. Also, we listened to the Radio Bible Class on the radio each Sunday. So the concepts and teachings of RBC were part of my formative years as a youngster.

Delighting Grace: How about you, how do you do your devotional time?

Dave Branon: It’s a mixture of things for me. One advantage I have is that I spend eight hours every day immersed in spiritual teaching with my writing and editing. Also, I try to read the Bible through each year (often, I don’t make it through, but that’s okay). And, I teach a Sunday school class at my church, which keeps me in the word for hours a week. Worship and devotion are a part of all of life for the Christian.

Delighting Grace: Please invite our readers to check ODB out and other stuff RBC can offer to us?

Dave Branon: If you go to our website, you will find that RBC has so much more to offer than  ODB. Feel free to use our other tools. I spend most of my time working for Discovery House Publishers—and I even have a book available from DHP. It’s called Beyond the Valley. It’s just one of hundreds of things you can get from our ministry to help you grow. 

Delighting Grace: Thank you Dave for giving us your time for this interview. Also I would like to acknowledge DHP Publicist Katy R. Pent for making this interview possible. God bless you Katy and Dave and more power!

11 responses »

  1. Hi Nitoy thank you for the messages that you post they are challenging, interesting, uplifting and encouraging and you have a lot of variety too, there was a few that I thought I must comment on but having so many technical problems I lost my train of thought, I may go back through your index and see if I can find them.

    Ron my husband and myself used Daily bread as our morning Devotional for years, but now I use Blogging as my Devotional and there is indeed much to ponder on and Ron uses Chuck Colson’s which is also thought provoking but I must add that without Jesus who is our only Teacher nothing would impact our lives, He is the only Key.

    Christian Love Anne ..Ron sends his blessings too.

    • thank you thank you tita anne and tito ron…looking forward for your post too…yes ODB has a part of in my Christian walk…i love the tagalog version of it…whats the title of chuck colson’s devotionals?

      • Hi Nitoy, Chuck Colson’s Devotionals are called Breakpoint I will give you the Link http://www.breakpoint.org/bp-home.

        I have done 100s of differant devotions over 30 years both men and womens but what I enjoy doing now apart from visiting Blogs is word studies with the Lord, I have lern’t so much this way and it’s opened up the whole Bible for me.

        Take Care I will be back soon – Christian Love Anne.

  2. You got me thinking Nitroy just how many differant Bible studies I have done over the 30 years I have been a Christian, Wow it just can’t be counted, I’m sure others could say the same .There are 52 weeks in a year and if I wasen’t sick or away on holidays, I did 3 differant studies a week one was a K.Y.B class, then 2 others which were part of my Ministries, plus my own morning devotion and another one with Ron each morning. When we finished a Devotion we would sometimes change to a new Writer or a new book. There was a period of time where I fell into sin and didn’t read the Bible but after heart repentance the rest of the time it stayed the same. Now I read many Devotions or messages while blogging and my own, plus Ron shares his highlights but my faviourite of all time is the Word Study I do with Jesus.

    Thanks for getting me thinking – Christian Love Anne

  3. Sorry I used the wrong e-mail address I will try again…

    You got me thinking Nitroy just how many differant Bible studies I have done over the 30 years I have been a Christian, Wow it just can’t be counted, I’m sure others could say the same .There are 52 weeks in a year and if I wasen’t sick or away on holidays, I did 3 differant studies a week one was a K.Y.B class, then 2 others which were part of my Ministries, plus my own morning devotion and another one with Ron each morning. When we finished a Devotion we would sometimes change to a new Writer or a new book. There was a period of time where I fell into sin and didn’t read the Bible but after heart repentance the rest of the time it stayed the same. Now I read many Devotions or messages while blogging and my own, plus Ron shares his highlights but my faviourite of all time is the Word Study I do with Jesus.

    Thanks for getting me thinking – Christian Love Anne

  4. Hi,
    Thank you for the interview of Dave Branon. I use the ODB (can’t do without it) as my daily devotional and Dave is one of my favourite writers (remember Mellisa). Its nice to know about him and the process of producing the inspiring, thought provoking and delightful daily readings. Thank you Dave. Thank you Nitoy. Please pray for peace in my country Nigeria. God bless you all.
    Victor Eguabor

    • Victor we will pray for your country. its the blessing that Christianity is flourishing in Nigeria despite the persecution. Keep it up brother!!!God bless you more!!!

Leave a Reply

