Show Me Thy Glory

Standard

I was in for a treat. Yes a spiritual one. To begin with I’m not prepared for this. It was a bad idea for not bringing a camera over our church. Then we were told we will attend a church anniversary service. I miss an opportunity to document it. It wasn’t bad I still got Ptr. Edwin Tan’s autograph. But more than (and much more than that!) that I get to hear his preaching on Exodus 33. It turned out to be a blessed night for us. I may not be able to shoot some photos but I got to sit down and jot the message from this beloved pastor. The message was penetrating for us who are constantly seeking God and wanting to know Him deeply. I hope and pray that this message will also have an impact to you.

Show Me Thy Glory by Ptr. Edwin Tan

Text: Exodus 33: 18-23

And he said, I beseech thee, shew me thy glory.

 

And he said, I will make all my goodness pass before thee, and I will proclaim the name of the LORD before thee; and will be gracious to whom I will be gracious, and will shew mercy on whom I will shew mercy.

 

And he said, Thou canst not see my face: for there shall no man see me, and live.

 

And the LORD said, Behold, there is a place by me, and thou shalt stand upon a rock:

 

And it shall come to pass, while my glory passeth by, that I will put thee in a clift of the rock, and will cover thee with my hand while I pass by:

 

And I will take away mine hand, and thou shalt see my back parts: but my face shall not be seen.

 

Introduction: Moses has already witness God’s power. He now wants to see God’s glory.

Dilemma: We can’t see God’s glory and live!

Question: How can we see God’s glory?

I. Acknowledge His Grace (v.19)

 

  1. Jesus died for our sin (Romans 8:1)
  2. The cross coming to your life

II. Appreciate His Goodness (v. 18)

  1. Understand His goodness to us.
  2. Look not only in the big things but also on the little things God gave to us.

III. Accept His Guidance. (v. 23)

  1. Be on the right spot to see his guidance and glory

Conclusion:

Question: Do you want to see God and His glory?

Answer: Be on the back part of God and be ready to follow Him.

8 responses »

  1. Hi Nitoy asking someone who is passionate about God if we want to see His glory is already answered , we can know the things of God by asking for His wisdom and believing we have received it and they will be reaveled to us as shown in 1 Corinthians 2 :9-16 and we can see God in His creation and we can know and experience His Love, Compassion Mercy in our lives but see a Spirits face Hmmm see His Glory well I have no doubt about God’s goodness and that He can do no evil, we see this in 1 Corinthians 13 & Galations 5 in The Fruit of the Spirit, but can we see His face??? or were you meaning His Glory as reaveled through Jesus Christ.?

    Christian Love Anne

    • yea tita Anne as you can see on the post the pastor mentioned we can see God’s glory through His goodness and i think this includes what he revealed it to His Son. as for to see His face we can see it maybe when we meet Him face to face in heaven. but for now as the sermon indicates following Him is seeing His glory ^_-

      • Thank you Nitoy and I agree and of course 1 Corinthans 2 with God’s wisdom as empowered by The Holy Ghost, we are not in the dark.

        I have kept up with most of your posts and there was one that I really wanted to share with you about but with Blog problems was distracted it was about the gifts of The Spirit today so if you could give me the link I would appreciate it.

        Christian Love Anne

      • Thanks to you all for the intelligent comments. Knowing God’s glory is achieved by making a decision to walk with him

      • Yes it is…and its so important for us as a Christian…thanks for the comment…

Leave a Reply

